

No. 49

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

Fourth Session

Twenty-Ninth Legislature

Monday, November 19, 2018

The Deputy Speaker took the Chair at 1:30 p.m.

Members' Statements

Mr. Dach, Hon. Member for Edmonton-McClung, made a statement regarding how Bill 26, An Act to Combat Poverty and Fight for Albertans with Disabilities, will support vulnerable Albertans.

Mr. Barnes, Hon. Member for Cypress-Medicine Hat, made a statement regarding the hardships and burdens resulting from Government economic policy.

Mrs. Littlewood, Hon. Member for Fort Saskatchewan-Vegreville, made a statement recognizing the Ukrainian famine and genocide, known as the Holodomor, and reflecting on her trip last year to Kiev, Ukraine, along with Hon. Mr. Bilous, Minister of Economic Development and Trade.

Mrs. Pitt, Hon. Member for Airdrie, made a statement regarding rules for accessing public and private lands for hunting and how the fees collected for licences and tags help support hunting and wildlife management.

MLA Cortes-Vargas, Hon. Member for Strathcona-Sherwood Park, made a statement regarding the work of the Strathcona County Pickleball Association and the popularity of pickleball in Strathcona County and across Canada.

Mr. Schneider, Hon. Member for Little Bow, made a statement regarding the Government's unanswered questions about and conflicting information on their plans for the Bighorn Backcountry.

Notices of Motions

Mr. Fildebrandt, Hon. Member for Strathmore-Brooks, gave oral notice of his intention to move the following motion under Standing Order 42:

Be it resolved that the Legislative Assembly urge the Government to reject cooperation with the federal government in the imposition of the Paris Agreement on climate change.

Mr. Ellis, Hon. Member for Calgary-West, gave oral notice of his intention to move the following motion under Standing Order 42:

Be it resolved that the Legislative Assembly urge the Government to immediately release an updated fiscal projection, given that Budget 2018 did not account for the delay in the Trans Mountain Pipeline expansion and the Keystone XL Pipeline, or the significant differential in oil prices that is impacting Alberta jobs and the economy.

Tabling Returns and Reports

Mr. Shepherd, Chair, Standing Committee on Legislative Offices, pursuant to the Election Act, cE-1, s4(7), and the Election Finances and Contributions Disclosure Act, cE-2, s4(2):

Chief Electoral Officer, Annual Report 2017-18

Sessional Paper 363/2018

Ms Jabbour, Deputy Speaker and Chair of Committees:

Pursuant to the Public Interest Disclosure (Whistleblower Protection) Act, cP-39.5, s33(2), Public Interest Commissioner, Annual Report 2017-18

Sessional Paper 364/2018

Pursuant to the Ombudsman Act, cO-8, s28, Alberta Ombudsman, 2017-18 Annual Report

Sessional Paper 365/2018

Tablings to the Clerk

Acting Clerk (Procedure) of the Assembly, on behalf of Hon. Mr. Schmidt, Minister of Advanced Education, pursuant to the Apprenticeship and Industry Training Act, cA-42, s6(2):

Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training Board, 2017-2018 Annual Report Sessional Paper 366/2018 Acting Clerk (Procedure) of the Assembly, on behalf of Hon. Ms Gray, Minister of Labour and Minister Responsible for Democratic Renewal:

Pursuant to the Government Organization Act, cG-10, sch10, s10(3):

Alberta Association for Safety Partnerships, Authorized Radiation Health Administrative Organization, Annual Report for the period January 1, 2017, to December 31, 2017, with attached financial statements for the year ended December 31, 2017

Sessional Paper 367/2018

Alberta College and Association of Chiropractors, Authorized Radiation Health Administrative Organization, Annual Report for the period July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018, with attached financial statements for the year ended June 30, 2018 Sessional Paper 368/2018

Alberta Dental Association and College, Authorized Radiation Health Administrative Organization, Annual Report for the period January 1, 2017, to December 31, 2017, with attached financial statements dated December 31, 2017

Sessional Paper 369/2018

Alberta Veterinary Medical Association, Authorized Radiation Health Administrative Organization, Annual Report for the period November 1, 2016, to October 31, 2017

Sessional Paper 370/2018

College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta, Authorized Radiation Health Administrative Organization, Annual Report for the period January 1, 2017, to December 31, 2017

Sessional Paper 371/2018

University of Alberta, Authorized Radiation Health Administrative Organization, Annual Report for the period April 1, 2017, to March 31, 2018

Sessional Paper 372/2018

University of Calgary, Authorized Radiation Health Administrative Organization, Annual Report for the period April 1, 2017, to March 31, 2018

Sessional Paper 373/2018

Pursuant to the Chartered Professional Accountants Act, cC-10.2, s28(2), Chartered Professional Accountants Alberta, Annual Report 2017/2018

Sessional Paper 374/2018

Motions Under Standing Order 42

Mr. Fildebrandt, Hon. Member for Strathmore-Brooks, requested and received the unanimous consent of the Assembly for consideration of the following motion:

Be it resolved that the Legislative Assembly urge the Government to reject cooperation with the federal government in the imposition of the Paris Agreement on climate change.

A debate followed.

Mr. McIver, Hon. Member for Calgary-Hays, moved that the motion be amended by adding the following after "climate change":

", but recognize the need to reduce greenhouse gas emissions without imposing disproportionate costs on the Alberta economy not being imposed by our economic competitors."

A debate followed on the amendment.

The question being put, the amendment was defeated. With Ms Jabbour in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the amendment: 7

Ellis McIver van Dijken Fildebrandt Nixon Yao

Hunter

Against the amendment: 38

Anderson (Leduc-Beaumont) Nielsen Gray Babcock Hinkley Payne **Phillips** Carlier Horne Kazim Piquette Ceci Renaud Connolly Kleinsteuber Coolahan Larivee Rosendahl Cortes-Vargas Littlewood Schmidt Schreiner Dach Loyola Dang Malkinson Shepherd Drever Mason Sucha Eggen McCuaig-Boyd Turner Feehan McKitrick Westhead Fitzpatrick Miranda

Hon. Mr. Mason, Government House Leader, requested and received the unanimous consent of the Assembly to shorten the interval between division bells to one minute.

The question being put, the motion was defeated. With Ms Jabbour in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the motion: 9

CyrHunterSchneiderEllisMcIvervan DijkenFildebrandtNixonYao

Against the motion: 38

Nielsen Anderson (Leduc-Beaumont) Gray Hinkley Babcock Payne Carlier Horne Phillips Piquette Ceci Kazim Renaud Connolly Kleinsteuber Coolahan Larivee Rosendahl Cortes-Vargas Littlewood Schmidt Dach Loyola Schreiner Dang Malkinson Shepherd Sucha Drever Mason McCuaig-Boyd Turner Eggen Feehan McKitrick Westhead

Fitzpatrick Miranda

Adjournment

The Assembly adjourned at 6:22 p.m. until Tuesday, November 20, 2018, at 10:00 a.m.

Hon. Robert E. Wanner, Speaker

Title: Monday, November 19, 2018